Aerial Yoga, Best Stretch And Relaxation I Have Ever Had At Future Fitness In Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Have you ever wanted to fly or soar above the ground? Well I cannot guarantee you will fly, but you can get pretty darn close in an aerial yoga class.

( The video below is not me but it is a great visual of what aerial yoga is all about.)

I have wanted to try aerial yoga for a while. I knew of a few places in Philadelphia that do it, however, I was fortunate to find a class close to me at Future Fitness in Cherry Hill.

When I called to schedule a time, I was told to wear short or long sleeves and capris or tight pants to protect my legs and underarms. I was fortunate to be the only one scheduled for the class and I had a one on one session with the aerial yoga teacher, Karen Applegate, who you will hear more from in my question and answer session with her in my next post.

The entire class was an hour-long and as the aerial yoga class progressed so did the yoga moves. We first started putting one or two body parts in the aerial silks and then eventually we had our entire body in the silks flipping upside down and out of them.

IMG_3975

Flipping out of the aerial silks. Photo Credit: Karen Applegate

IMG_3977

Stretching my upper body and hovering over my mat. Photo Credit: Karen Applegate.

IMG_3946

Downward facing dog using the aerial silks. Photo Credit: Karen Applegate

I must say that aerial yoga is a fantastic stretch and is very relaxing for the entire mind and body. I have been practicing Vinyasa yoga for many years; however, the final relaxation pose where you lie in the aerial silks like a hammock as it slowly rocks back and forth is unbelievably peaceful. I have never reached that level of relaxation in any other yoga class.

I would highly recommend aerial yoga, however, it is not necessarily a high cardio, sweaty, high calorie-burning workout. I would recommend adding it your workout routine, but also incorporate other fitness like going for a long run before hand or doing a boot camp class in addition to the yoga.

Overall, the aerial yoga class is a great  stretch and relaxation for the mind, body and soul and is a must try!

 

Leave a Reply

